Blue Balls from the Xbone

Five hours later and not only did I plug in my X-Box One (now known as the X-Bone). But I also accomplished downloading a system update, a controller update and an hour later Gears of War (Ultimate Edition).

Then I stopped and noticed next to my X-Bone is my Super Nintendo from 1997. This is when I realized how ridiculous it is buy a brand new video game console. Expect it to work, which technically it does, however I didn’t expect nearly two hours later I would be investing my time and patience to get into playing a video game. Whiskey Tango Foxtrot Microsoft!?

Let me give you a night and day experience between past video game consoles and todays. Early last year I visited my mom’s home. Below her television is the Nintendo Entertainment System, the Super Nintendo, N64, and the Game Cube. Heads up, all four of these generation consoles still work. Games still work and there’s no system updates. I was able to tap into Mario, The Legend of Zelda and the Wind Waker, Luigi’s Mansion, Donkey Kong Country and finally Super Mario 64. However, for a majority of the games the good old technique of ‘blowing on the cartridge’ is still needed.

Now, I jump onto the X-Bone and nearly two hours later and like I mentioned above the system is updated, the controller is updated. Though the later I’ll have to beg to differ. There’s clearly no new buttons added to the controller update.

So what games did I manage to download in the mean time?

Gears of War Unlimited Edition

Rare Replay, which includes: Atic Atac, Banjo Kazooie, Nuts and bolts, Tooie, Battletoads, Battletoads Arcade, Blast Corps, Cogra Triangle, Conker’s Bad Fur Day, Digger T. Rock, Grabbed by the Ghaoulies, Gunfight, Jet Force Gemini, Jetpack, Jetback Refuled, Kameo: Elements of Power, Killer Instinct Gold, Kights Lore, Lunar Jetman, Perfect Dark, Perfect Dark Zero, R.C. Pro-Am, R.C. Pro-Am 2, Sabre Wulf, Slalom, Snake Rattle N Roll, Solar jetman, Underwurlde, Viva Pinata, Viva Pinata Trouble in Paradise

Sunset Overdrive currently free to Gold Members.

State of Decay

Ori and the Blind Forest

Assassin’s Creed IV Black Flag and Unity

Leave a Reply

